vine * Macro Monday


“Study this holy mystery until you see Christ as the true Vine, bearing, strengthening, supplying, inspiring all His branches, being and doing in each branch all it needs, and the abiding will come of itself….  A branch, utterly helpless, and yet just as manifestly set apart before God and men, as wholly given up to the work of bearing fruit, as the Vine itself…   Yes, by His grace, I will be nothing less than a branch, and all He means it to be, that through me, He may bring forth His fruit. You are the branch –You need be nothing more.”

[Andrew Murray – The True Vine]

I am the vine, ye are the branches:
He that abideth in Me, and I in him,
The same bringeth forth much fruit:
For without Me ye can do nothing.
[John 15:5]
6 thoughts on “vine * Macro Monday

  1. Have you ever seen a branch bearing fruit without being attached to the vine?? Nope, didn’t think so.

    v. 4 “Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.

    v. 7 “If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.”

    I think the opposite is also true… those who do not abide in Christ and those who do not allow Christ’s Word to dwell in them, have no promise that their prayers will be answered!

    (I love grapes, by the way) 🙂

Leave a Reply

