mercy


[I’m going to take a break from my normal Monday blogging routine… Nothing’s set in stone, right?! 😉  Just for the record, this post is #100.]


I love getting up early – I always have.  My most favorite part about early mornings is having a “quiet time”.  It’s a special time set apart to seek the Lord through His Word and through prayer.  I can honestly say it’s a highlight of my day.

This morning I was working on my “FBI” homework reading through several of the Psalms.  As I read, something kept jumping out: The Mercy of God.  I ended up doing a mini-study on His mercy and I thought I share some of what I found.

All the paths of the LORD are mercy and truth unto such as keep His covenant and His testimonies. [Ps. 25:10]

Thy mercy, O LORD, is in the heavens; and Thy faithfulness reacheth unto the clouds. [Ps. 36:5]

Blessed be God, which hath not turned away my prayer, nor His mercy from me. [Ps. 66:20]

For thou, Lord, art good, and ready to forgive; and plenteous in mercy unto all them that call upon thee. [Ps. 86:5]

Gracious is the LORD, and righteous; yea, our God is merciful. [Ps. 116:5]

O praise the LORD… for His merciful kindness is great toward us: [Ps. 117]

I don’t know about you, but I can’t help but be in awe after reading verses like that.  I can’t help but think that this “mercy” must truly be something extraordinary.

When you look up mercy in a dictionary the definition is essentially something along the line “compassion – divine compassion – shown to an offender”.  With that in mind think about what those verses say!  In spite of our sin, God has shown a supernatural kind of “kindness” to us.  Pretty amazing, isn’t it?

As if that wasn’t enough, there’s a phrase that’s used of God’s mercy over 40 times in His Word:

“His mercy endureth forever…”

And then there’s my favorite passage about God’s mercy:

It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed,
Because His compassions fail not.
They are new every morning:
Great is Thy faithfulness.
[Lamentations 3:23-24]
One thought on “mercy

Leave a Reply

