The Monday Ho-Hums


originally published by myself at blog.westality.com 

’m not one to usually complain about Mondays.  In fact I’m usually the “Woo-hoo! It’s Monday! Bring on the new week!” kind of person.

But if there ever was Monday, today is definitely a Monday.

Oh, it’s not like something massive or tragic or life-changing happened today.  It’s just one of those days where small frustration after small frustration gets stacked on top of each other.  Things that inconvenience me and point out a glaring me-centered attitude.

I caught myself thinking earlier that it was “just one of those days…..”

And then the Lord reminded me of two things.

The first is a simple phrase from 2nd Timothy that has the capability of instantly restoring your joy in any day.  (If you’ve seen anything I’ve written before, chances are you’ve picked up on the fact that this is a particularly precious part of God’s character to me… See herehere, and here.)  These three words tell me so much about my God and remind me of the many times in the past that He’s proven it.  Found in 2nd Timothy 2:13 they are, “He remains faithful!”

The other thought is a perspective changer.  Instead of thinking about this not-particularly-exhiliarting 24 hour day in the terms of “what a day”, maybe I should focus all the on a much different “What a Day!”  It’s a simple hymn chorus that makes me happy every time when I think about what it’s saying:

“What a day that will be when my Jesus I shall see…

And I look upon His face, the One who saved me by His grace…

What a day, glorious day, that will be!”

There! Take THAT, Monday! 🙂

One thought on “The Monday Ho-Hums

  1. I’m not set up to leave a comment

    I was trying to post:

    I love that hymn. Good for you for keeping your focus on the Lord.

    Love You

Leave a Reply

