thank you


image

Thank you for dirty diapers,

Sleepless nights,

For little semblance of a schedule and no agenda.

 

Thank you for a fussy baby,

For songs sung the umpteenth time,

And that hundredth trip walking around that house in an effort to soothe.

 

Thanks for naps that last for minutes instead of hours,

Laundry that waits for three days to be folded and dishes that pile up.

 

Thank you for spit-up in my hair,

Milk drenching my clothes,

For exposing my ugly selfishness.

 

 

Thank you for all of this because without this there would also be no freshly bathed, sweet-smelling baby,

No giggles and tiny smiles,

And no baby cuddles.

A clean house will last a couple days at best; the baby memories last forever.

 

 

Thank you for the feelings of inadequacy – That is where You show Yourself strong and how You are most glorified.

With my inadequacy, comes your strength.

Thank you for the feelings of being overwhelmed by the work and responsibility – it’s always coupled with feelings of overwhelming blessing.

 

 

His grace is sufficient for me.

His power is made perfect in my weaknesses.

 

“Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that  the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

[2 Corinthians 12:9]

Leave a Reply

